Senate and House Energy Committees

It is still unknown what the member makeup will be in the 113th Congress of the Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee. Rumor has it that Senators Rand Paul (R-KY) and Bob Corker (R-TN) may leave the Committee but, if so, no word on their replacements. Soon-to-be new Chairman Ron Wyden (D-OR) and Ranking Member Lisa Murkowski (R-AK) allegedly have met to discuss the possibility of developing a comprehensive energy policy bill next year. But if this is true, the range and scope of such a measure has not been made public. They are known to collaborate in a cooperative way on other issues.

Mogel & Sweet's call: Stay tuned.

With respect to the House Energy and Commerce Committee, Chairman Fred Upton (R-MI) has named as of late November 28 two new subcommittee chairmen for 2013. Of particular interest is the appointment of Rep. Tim Murphy (R-PA) to lead the Oversight and Investigations Subcommittee, replacing outgoing Cliff Stearns (R-FL). This is a key subcommittee in the next Congress with respect to energy development because it will play a role in addressing the environmental effects of hydraulic fracturing. The Congressman represents a western Pennsylvania district that has benefited from the shale gas boom. Rep. Lee Terry (R-NE) will succeed Rep. Mary Bono Mack (R-CA) as Chairman of the Commerce, Manufacturing and Trade Subcommittee next year.

Mogel & Sweet's call: The Oversight and Investigations Subcommittee will be thoroughly analyzing EPA's national study on the link between natural gas extraction from shale and groundwater contamination.